“The conversation no one else is having.” – The Good Men Project

How have I not heard of this? I guess because it’s the conversation that no one else is having. I happened upon this site after someone on fb shared a link to a story about why men don’t cheat, and interested in human sexuality as I am, I went to check it out. I was blown away by the response of the article and actually cheered at one point. So I ventured further, hitting up the About section, and was extremely pleased at this ‘let’s break the mold of masculinity’ stance that is feminist and makes me hopeful for a change in media coverage of men. 

“Guys today are neither the mindless, sex-obsessed buffoons nor the stoic automatons our culture so often makes them out to be. Our community is smart, compassionate, curious, and open-minded; they strive to be good fathers and husbands, citizens and friends, to lead by example at home and in the workplace, and to understand their role in a changing world.” 

This is pretty great, not just for men, but for everyone who wants to see a change in the definition of what is masculine and feminine, gender roles, and media portrayal of either sex that promotes certain expectations and condones bad behavior. While I’m sure as with any website I won’t agree with all the published material; but after a brief overview, I’m impressed with what I’ve seen. It’s kinda cool.
I like. 

One comment

Leave a Reply

